Every deposit, fee and timeline for getting power, water, cooling, gas and internet switched on in a Dubai or Abu Dhabi home — in the order it actually happens.
In short. In Dubai, your Ejari registration triggers your DEWA account: you pay a refundable deposit of AED 2,000 (apartment) or AED 4,000 (villa) plus AED 155 in activation fees, and supply is connected within 15 working hours. In Abu Dhabi, your landlord's Tawtheeq registration opens your TAQA Distribution (formerly ADDC) account automatically, with no application from you. District cooling, gas and home internet are separate accounts with separate deposits, and they are the ones that catch new arrivals out.
Every figure is tagged with how well it is sourced, so you can see what comes from a government or provider page and what does not.
| Tag | Meaning |
|---|---|
| [OFFICIAL] | Taken from a government, regulator or provider page |
| [REPORTED] | Reported by Gulf News, Khaleej Times or The National, not confirmed on an official page |
| [VERIFY] | Could not be confirmed at the time of writing. Check with the provider before you rely on it |
| [ESTIMATE] | Our own arithmetic from official rates, shown as an illustration |
The single most useful thing to know is that utilities in the UAE hang off your registered tenancy contract. Until the contract is registered (Ejari in Dubai, Tawtheeq in Abu Dhabi), almost nothing else can start.
| Order | Dubai | Abu Dhabi |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sign the tenancy contract | Sign the tenancy contract |
| 2 | Register Ejari (tenant or agent) | Landlord or property manager registers Tawtheeq |
| 3 | DEWA sends a welcome email and SMS with a payment link | TAQA Distribution creates your account and sends the account number |
| 4 | Pay DEWA deposit and activation fees | Activate your online account. Deposit is added to your first bill [REPORTED] |
| 5 | Register for district cooling, if the building uses it | Register with Tasleem or the building's cooling provider, if applicable |
| 6 | Connect gas (piped or cylinder) | Connect gas (central system or cylinder) |
| 7 | Order home internet (e& or du) | Order home internet (e& or du) |
The answers change your monthly costs more than the rent negotiation usually does.
Ejari is the Dubai Land Department's tenancy registration. For tenants outside the free zones, the Ejari number is the only thing DEWA asks for. [OFFICIAL]
| Channel | Cost |
|---|---|
| Dubai REST app or DLD website | AED 177.75 (AED 100 registration, AED 10 knowledge fee, AED 10 innovation fee, AED 55 partner fee, AED 2.75 VAT) |
| Real Estate Services Trustee Centre | AED 220 as listed by DLD |
You need the signed Unified Tenancy Contract. At a trustee centre, bring the original contract and your Emirates ID. Processing takes about 25 minutes at a centre, not counting the queue. [OFFICIAL]
Free zone tenants who are exempt from Ejari use their tenancy contract with DEWA instead. [OFFICIAL]
Source: Dubai Land Department, Register or Renew Ejari Contract.
What happens. Once Ejari is issued, DEWA automatically sends an email and SMS containing your contract account number, the deposit amount and a payment link. You do not need to submit a separate application. If the message does not arrive, which usually means the wrong email address was entered on the Ejari, apply yourself through the DEWA website, the DEWA Smart App or the Dubai Now app. [OFFICIAL]
What you need. A valid Ejari number. With it, DEWA asks for no uploaded documents. [OFFICIAL]
| Item | Apartment | Villa |
|---|---|---|
| Security deposit (refundable) | AED 2,000 | AED 4,000 |
| Meter activation, small meter | AED 125 | AED 125 |
| Registration fee | AED 10 | AED 10 |
| Knowledge fee | AED 10 | AED 10 |
| Innovation fee | AED 10 | AED 10 |
| Total due on day one | AED 2,155 | AED 4,155 |
Properties with a large meter pay AED 300 for activation in place of AED 125. [OFFICIAL]
How long it takes. Supply is connected within 15 working hours of payment. DEWA counts working hours as Monday to Saturday, 7:00 to 20:00, so pay early in the day and early in the week. If it runs late, the escalation line is 04 601 9999. [OFFICIAL]
Do not rely on this without checking. DEWA's move-in page does not say whether VAT is added to the activation charges, and it does not offer the deposit in instalments. Treat any claim of an instalment plan as unverified. [VERIFY]
Source: DEWA, Activation of Electricity and Water (Move-in).
Your DEWA bill carries more than electricity and water. It is also how Dubai collects the housing fee and sewerage charges.
| Monthly consumption | Rate per kWh |
|---|---|
| 0 to 2,000 kWh | 23 fils |
| 2,001 to 4,000 kWh | 28 fils |
| 4,001 to 6,000 kWh | 32 fils |
| 6,001 kWh and above | 38 fils |
| Monthly consumption | Rate per cubic metre |
|---|---|
| 0 to 27 m³ | AED 7.70 |
| 27 to 54 m³ | AED 8.80 |
| 54 m³ and above | AED 10.12 |
DEWA has billed water in cubic metres, not imperial gallons, since the March 2025 billing cycle. Older guides that quote fils per gallon are describing the same rates in the old unit. [OFFICIAL]
| Line | What it is | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel surcharge | 6.0 fils per kWh and AED 1.10 per m³ for October 2026. Reset monthly | OFFICIAL |
| VAT | 5% on the tariffs | OFFICIAL |
| Housing fee | 5% of your annual rent, split into 12 monthly instalments | OFFICIAL |
| Sewerage | Charged on water consumed. Reported at 2 fils per gallon for 2026, rising to 2.8 fils in 2027 | REPORTED |
| Meter service charge | A small fixed monthly charge per meter | OFFICIAL |
The housing fee is the one people miss. On an annual rent of AED 100,000, the fee is AED 5,000 a year, or about AED 417 a month, on top of what you actually consume. [ESTIMATE]
A one bedroom apartment using 1,500 kWh and 20 m³ in a summer month: [ESTIMATE]
| Line | Calculation | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Electricity | 1,500 kWh x 23 fils | AED 345.00 |
| Electricity fuel surcharge | 1,500 kWh x 6.0 fils | AED 90.00 |
| Water | 20 m³ x AED 7.70 | AED 154.00 |
| Water fuel surcharge | 20 m³ x AED 1.10 | AED 22.00 |
| VAT at 5% | on AED 611.00 | AED 30.55 |
| Subtotal | AED 641.55 | |
Housing fee, sewerage and meter charges are added to that subtotal. Your own usage will differ, and the surcharge changes each month.
Sources: DEWA slab tariff, DEWA bill payment information, DEWA, cubic metre announcement, The National on sewerage fees.
What it is. In many towers and master communities, chilled water for air conditioning comes from a central plant, not from your own electricity supply. You hold a separate account with the cooling provider and receive a separate bill.
Why it matters. A district cooling bill has two parts, and one of them does not fall when you switch the air conditioning off.
| Charge | What it is | Changes with usage? |
|---|---|---|
| Consumption charge | What you actually use, measured in refrigeration ton-hours (RTh) | Yes |
| Capacity or demand charge | A fixed annual fee based on the cooling load reserved for your unit | No |
Dubai's district cooling is regulated under Executive Council Resolution No. 6 of 2021, which requires bills to show both charges with their unit rates. The resolution does not say whether landlord or tenant pays. That is a matter for your tenancy contract. [LAW]
"Chiller free" in a rental listing means the landlord covers the cooling charges. Where a listing does not say so, assume you will receive a bill. [REPORTED]
| Empower | Emicool | |
|---|---|---|
| Consumption | AED 0.568 per RTh | 0.56 per RTh |
| Capacity or demand | AED 750 per ton per year | AED 750 to 888 per ton per year |
| Security deposit | Varies by building. Shown during registration | 8 months of the unit's capacity charge, refundable |
| Activation | Connection fee varies by building | AED 200 plus VAT (its service charter lists AED 250) |
| Registration time | 1 to 3 working days | 2 working days. Express in 3 working hours for AED 500 plus VAT |
| Tenant documents | Ejari or tenancy contract, Emirates ID, visa page | Ejari, passport, Emirates ID, IBAN, end-user agreement signed by tenant and landlord |
| Status | OFFICIAL | OFFICIAL |
On a unit with a contracted load of 6 tons, Empower's demand charge alone is AED 4,500 a year, or AED 375 a month before VAT, whether or not you use the air conditioning. [OFFICIAL]
How to register with Empower. Go to Empower's online premise registration, verify with a one-time code, enter the unit's nine digit DEWA premise number, choose your customer type, upload your documents and pay the deposit and connection fee shown. [OFFICIAL]
Tabreed and Emaar communities. Tabreed's residential customers in Dubai are billed through Tasleem. We could not confirm their Dubai deposits or tariffs from a published page, so ask for the figures in writing before you sign. [VERIFY]
How to check whether a building is on district cooling. There is no official lookup tool. Ask the landlord or agent to name the provider, ask to see the previous occupant's cooling bill, and check the tenancy contract for the words "chiller free". A partner such as Altura Property can confirm this before you commit to a unit.
Where in doubt. If your contract is silent or ambiguous on who pays the capacity charge, settle it in writing before you sign. If a dispute has already started, Davidson & Co. would be worth speaking to.
Sources: Empower charges, Empower registration, Emicool FAQ, Emicool customer fees, Executive Council Resolution No. 6 of 2021.
Homes in Dubai get cooking gas in one of three ways: a piped central system serving the building or community, delivered LPG cylinders, or not at all because the kitchen is electric. Which one applies is decided by the building, not by you.
Piped gas. Central systems are run by private contractors under an agreement with the developer. Lootah Gas lists projects in Palm Jumeirah, Discovery Gardens, Dubai Festival City, Emaar South, Downtown Dubai, Dubai Creek Harbour, Jumeirah Lake Towers, Jumeirah Village and International City. To connect, call 800 5224 or use its online connection request. Existing buildings are usually connected within 1 to 2 business days. You pay a service activation fee and a refundable deposit, then a fixed monthly charge plus a usage charge, billed every three months. [OFFICIAL]
SERGAS takes new connection requests through its app. [OFFICIAL]
Do not rely on this without checking. Neither company publishes its deposit or connection fee. Gulf News reports AED 600 to 800 for a new setup or transfer. Ask building management for the contractor's name and current fees. [REPORTED]
Cylinders. Buy only from authorised distributors. Since June 2025, Emirates Gas cylinders in Dubai carry a yellow security seal, which you should check before accepting delivery. Some buildings do not allow cylinders at all, so confirm with building management first. [REPORTED]
If you smell gas: close the main valve, do not touch any electrical switch, open the windows, and call your gas provider's emergency line. Civil Defence is 997.
Sources: Lootah Gas FAQ, SERGAS, Gulf News on the cylinder seal.
If you search for "ADDC", you are looking for what is now called TAQA Distribution. In September 2024, TAQA announced that Abu Dhabi Distribution Company (ADDC) and Al Ain Distribution Company (AADC) would operate under one customer brand. That name has appeared on bills and in branches since January 2025. [OFFICIAL]
| You may see | What it means today |
|---|---|
| ADDC | The old name for the Abu Dhabi city distributor. Now TAQA Distribution |
| AADC | The old name for the Al Ain distributor. Now TAQA Distribution |
| TAQA Distribution | The name on your bill, the app and the website |
| TAQA | The parent group |
The contact centre is 800 2332. Some older web pages still carry the ADDC name.
Tawtheeq is Abu Dhabi's tenancy registration system. Unlike Ejari, it is registered by the owner or the property management company, not by the tenant. Registration is compulsory for utilities to be connected. [OFFICIAL]
The registration cost falls on the landlord. Khaleej Times reports AED 50 a year per contract. [REPORTED]
Al Maryah Island and Al Reem Island are different. Leases there are registered with the ADGM Registration Authority, not in Tawtheeq. Since 2025, an ADGM registration also opens your TAQA Distribution account automatically. [OFFICIAL]
Your job at this stage is to chase. Ask for the Tawtheeq (or ADGM) registration confirmation as soon as you sign, because nothing below starts without it.
Sources: u.ae, Leasing a property in the UAE, TAQA Distribution and ADGM.
What happens. When the tenancy is registered, TAQA Distribution receives the details and sets up your water and electricity account. You do not submit a move-in application. TAQA Distribution sends you the account number, which you use to activate your online account and the app. UAE Pass login is supported. [OFFICIAL]
When you do need to apply. If your tenancy is not registered in Tawtheeq or with ADGM, apply online, in the app, at a branch or on 800 2332. You will need your passport, Emirates ID, tenancy contract, the premise ID printed on the contract, and the previous occupant's Account Closing Letter. [OFFICIAL]
Do not rely on this number without checking. TAQA Distribution does not publish its security deposit on a page we could read. Gulf News and The National have reported AED 1,000 for a residential unit, charged on the first bill, but those reports date from 2019 and 2020. Confirm the amount on 800 2332. [REPORTED] [VERIFY]
No connection or activation fee is published on the move-in pages. [OFFICIAL]
Sources: TAQA Distribution, About Moving In, TAQA Distribution, Move In.
Abu Dhabi does not use monthly slabs. It uses a daily allowance: stay within it and you pay the green rate, go over and the excess is charged at the red rate.
Tariff sheet effective 1 January 2025.
| Daily green band | Green rate | Red rate | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electricity, apartment | Up to 20 kWh a day | 26.8 fils per kWh | 30.5 fils per kWh |
| Electricity, villa | Up to 200 kWh a day | 26.8 fils per kWh | 30.5 fils per kWh |
| Water, apartment | Up to 700 litres a day | AED 7.84 per 1,000 litres | AED 10.41 per 1,000 litres |
| Water, villa | Up to 5,000 litres a day | AED 7.84 per 1,000 litres | AED 10.41 per 1,000 litres |
An apartment that uses exactly its green allowance for 30 days pays about AED 161 for electricity (600 kWh) and about AED 165 for water (21,000 litres). [ESTIMATE]
The apartment electricity band is tight. Twenty kWh a day is easy to exceed in summer, so expect part of a summer bill at the red rate.
Do not rely on this without checking. We found no 2026 tariff sheet and no announcement of a change, so the 2025 rates are the latest confirmed. The official wording on whether the listed rates already include 5% VAT is ambiguous. Check your first bill. [VERIFY]
The municipality fee. Tenants in Abu Dhabi pay a municipality fee of 5% of the annual rental value or the rental index value, whichever is higher. It is registered automatically with the tenancy, runs from the contract start date, and is collected by TAQA Distribution in 12 monthly instalments on the same bill as your electricity and water. On a rent of AED 100,000, that is about AED 417 a month. Non-payment can lead to disconnection. [OFFICIAL]
Sources: TAQA Distribution 2025 tariff, TAQA Distribution, Municipality Fee.
District cooling in Abu Dhabi is regulated by the Department of Energy under Law No. 11 of 2018. [LAW]
Most tenants deal with Tasleem, Tabreed's metering and billing company. It serves Al Raha Beach, Al Raha Gardens, Masdar, Saadiyat Beach Residences, parts of Reem Island (including Shams and Reflection), parts of Yas Island and Jamam. Other Reem Island and main island buildings are served by PAL Cooling. [OFFICIAL]
How to register with Tasleem. Sign up online or in the app with your unit details, accept the Cooling Service Agreement, upload your Emirates ID or passport and your tenancy contract, then pay the deposit and registration fee. [OFFICIAL]
All subject to 5% VAT except the deposit.
| Community | Consumption (AED per RTh) | Capacity (AED per RT per month) | Monthly service charge | Registration fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Al Raha Beach | 0.299 | 83.877 | None listed | AED 300 |
| Reem Island | 0.299 | 81.435 | AED 53.38 | AED 300 |
| Saadiyat Beach Residences | 0.373 | 109.397 | AED 30 | AED 250 |
| Jamam | 0.338 | 83.778 | AED 60 | AED 300 |
The security deposit in each of these communities is AED 1,000 or one month's capacity charge, whichever is greater. It is refunded within 10 business days of closing the account. [OFFICIAL]
Tasleem bills the registered account holder for both capacity and consumption. If your landlord has agreed to cover the capacity charge, that agreement needs to be in your tenancy contract, because the bill will still arrive in your name.
Sources: Tasleem, Tasleem FAQ, Tasleem Reem Island tariff, Department of Energy, District Cooling Regulations.
Many Abu Dhabi buildings have a central gas system run by a contractor chosen by the building. Registration, deposit and connection fees are set building by building and are not published in one place, so ask building management for the contractor's name and fees. [VERIFY]
Where cylinders are used, ADNOC Distribution is the supplier. [OFFICIAL]
| Cylinder | New cylinder | Refill |
|---|---|---|
| 25 lb | AED 290 | AED 54 |
| 50 lb | AED 423 | AED 108 |
| Composite | AED 337.50 | AED 54 |
You can order through the ADNOC Distribution app for home delivery, from mobile trucks or at service stations. Grocery stores and supermarkets are not allowed to sell cylinders. [OFFICIAL]
Do not rely on these prices without checking. ADNOC Distribution's price page carries no date. Confirm in the app before you order. [VERIFY]
Safety. Store cylinders upright in a ventilated place away from flames. Carry no more than two in a car, never in the passenger cabin, and never leave one in a vehicle in summer. [OFFICIAL]
Sources: ADNOC Distribution, LPG, Department of Energy, LPG circulars.
Two operators provide fixed home internet in both cities: e& (formerly Etisalat) and du. In practice, the provider you can get, and the speed, depends on the infrastructure in your building. If you move between an e& area and a du area, you cannot transfer the contract. You cancel and start again. [REPORTED]
What you need. e& lists an original Emirates ID and UAE residency, and the subscriber must be over 21. [OFFICIAL]
Do not rely on this without checking. Whether either operator will open a home internet account on a passport and visa before your Emirates ID is issued is not confirmed on any page we could read. Ask in store. [VERIFY]
Prices exclude 5% VAT.
| Plan | Type | Monthly price | Speed | Minimum term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Wireless Advance | 5G | AED 229 | Not stated | 12 months |
| Home Wireless Premium | 5G | AED 299 | Not stated | 24 months |
| Neo | Fibre | AED 399 | Up to 1 Gbps | 12 months |
| eLife Ultra Starter | Fibre | AED 429 | 500 Mbps | 24 months |
| Neo Fusion | Fibre, all inclusive | AED 799 | Not stated | 24 months |
Promotional prices are common in the first months of a contract. Installation is free on e& commitment plans. Leaving early costs one month's rental or AED 1,000, whichever is lower, plus the remaining value of any devices. Moving a fibre connection to a new home costs AED 157.50. [OFFICIAL]
du plans. du's home internet is reported to start at AED 229 a month, with fibre up to 1 Gbps. We could not read du's own pricing pages, so check du.ae for current plans. [REPORTED] [VERIFY]
The practical stopgap. 5G home wireless does not depend on building wiring, and e& delivers the router within 24 hours on a best-effort basis. Fibre installation usually takes several days. Many new arrivals take wireless first, or tether from a mobile SIM, while they wait. [OFFICIAL]
Starlink. The TDRA granted Starlink a 10 year licence in August 2026. Residential service is reported at AED 300 a month with a AED 1,465 kit, but Dubai and Abu Dhabi were reported as at capacity with a waitlist. Tenants may need building approval to mount a dish. [REPORTED]
For internet calling rules and VPN law, see the UAE Digital Services and Apps Guide.
Sources: e& home plans, e& Home Wireless, e& Neo, Khaleej Times, Starlink and du and e& compared, The National on the Starlink licence.
| Dubai | Abu Dhabi | |
|---|---|---|
| Electricity and water provider | DEWA | TAQA Distribution (formerly ADDC and AADC) |
| Tenancy registration | Ejari, done by tenant or agent | Tawtheeq, done by the landlord |
| Account opening | Automatic welcome message after Ejari, then you pay | Automatic after Tawtheeq or ADGM registration |
| Security deposit | AED 2,000 apartment, AED 4,000 villa OFFICIAL | AED 1,000 REPORTED |
| Activation fees | AED 155 for a small meter | None published |
| Connection time | Within 15 working hours of payment | Not published for the automatic route |
| Tariff structure | Monthly slabs, plus a monthly fuel surcharge | Daily green and red bands |
| Housing or municipality fee | 5% of annual rent, on the DEWA bill | 5% of annual rent or rental index value, on the TAQA Distribution bill |
| Main cooling billers | Empower, Emicool, Tasleem | Tasleem, PAL Cooling |
| Cylinder gas supplier | Authorised distributors such as Emirates Gas | ADNOC Distribution |
Utilities are one thread in a much bigger knot. On a typical arrival, four or five time-critical tasks land in the same fortnight — and several of them unlock each other. This is the order that actually works.
Each item on the left is a prerequisite for the item on the right. Break the chain early and everything downstream slips.
Without it you cannot open a bank account, and e& lists it as a requirement for home internet.
Your registered tenancy is what triggers the DEWA or TAQA Distribution account. Nothing else starts first.
The account number is reused for district cooling registration and often for internet orders.
Separate accounts, separate deposits. These are the ones that catch people out in the first month.
If you are still before arrival, the Before You Arrive UAE Checklist sequences the documents you can prepare in advance.
Utilities are highlighted. The rest shows what is competing for the same days.
Days 1–3
Collect your Emirates ID application, register Ejari, pay the DEWA deposit and activation, order a SIM, and photograph every meter.
Days 3–10
DEWA connects within 15 working hours. Register district cooling and pay the deposit, request the gas connection, open your bank account, and book fibre.
Days 10–30
Set up automatic payment, check the first bill against your meter photos, confirm the housing fee matches your rent, and file every deposit receipt.
Days 1–3
Chase the landlord for the Tawtheeq or ADGM registration confirmation, start your Emirates ID, and photograph every meter.
Days 3–10
TAQA Distribution opens your account automatically. Activate the app, register with Tasleem cooling where it applies, sort gas, and book fibre.
Days 10–30
Set up automatic payment, check the first bill against your photos, confirm the municipality fee against your rent, and file every receipt.
Dubai apartment
Abu Dhabi apartment
Deposits are refundable in most cases. Keep every receipt — you will need it when you leave.
You pay it whether the air conditioning is on or off. On a 6-ton unit it can be AED 375 a month before VAT.
5% of your annual rent arrives on your utility bill in twelve instalments, not on your rent invoice. About AED 417 a month on AED 100,000.
You cannot order fibre on a passport. Most new arrivals tether from a mobile SIM, then switch to 5G home wireless once the ID lands.
If the listing does not say it, assume you get a bill. If the landlord agrees to cover the capacity charge, put it in the contract.
If you move between an e& area and a du area, the contract is cancelled and restarted rather than transferred. Check the building's infrastructure before you commit to a tenancy if provider choice matters to you.
The full arrival sequence — Emirates ID, banking, SIM, housing, healthcare and your first month of admin — is set out in our First 30 Days guide.
| Provider | How to close | What it costs | Deposit refund |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEWA | Website, app or Dubai Now, with a move-out date and time | AED 145 for a small meter (AED 125 plus AED 10 knowledge fee and AED 10 innovation fee) | Netted against the final bill. By IBAN, 8 minutes for refunds up to AED 4,000 with nothing outstanding, otherwise 3 working days |
| TAQA Distribution | Website, app, 800 2332 or a branch. Cancelling Tawtheeq triggers the request | No fee | Timeline not published VERIFY |
| Emicool | Through customer service | Not stated | 5 working days |
| Tasleem (Abu Dhabi) | App or website, with a TAQA Distribution clearance letter and bank details | No fee | Within 10 business days |
| e& | App, 101 or a store | Exit charge applies inside the minimum term | Not applicable |
DEWA sends the final bill within 24 working hours of disconnection and issues the clearance certificate automatically once it is paid. For a refund by bank transfer, the account name must match the name registered with DEWA. [OFFICIAL]
Sources: DEWA Move-out, DEWA refunds, TAQA Distribution, About Moving Out.
| When | Change | Status |
|---|---|---|
| January 2025 | ADDC and AADC bills and branches rebranded as TAQA Distribution | OFFICIAL |
| January 2025 | e& launched Neo fibre plans with 12 month terms | OFFICIAL |
| March 2025 | DEWA began billing water in cubic metres | OFFICIAL |
| April 2025 | ADGM leases on Al Maryah and Al Reem began opening TAQA Distribution accounts automatically | OFFICIAL |
| June 2025 | Yellow security seal introduced on Emirates Gas cylinders in Dubai | REPORTED |
| August 2025 | UAE Pass login added to the TAQA Distribution app | OFFICIAL |
| 2026 | Dubai sewerage fee reported to rise to 2 fils per gallon | REPORTED |
| August 2026 | Starlink licensed by the TDRA | REPORTED |
No change to DEWA or TAQA Distribution electricity and water rates was announced in 2025 or 2026, as far as we could find.